Nearly 1000 cast early votes for July primary

  • The Hopkins County Courthouse on Super Tuesday
    The Hopkins County Courthouse on Super Tuesday

Friday last day to vote early


980 citizens have cast their votes for both Republican and Democratic July primaries, as of 3 p.m. on Thursday, July 9, according to county clerk Tracy Smith. 

Of the 23,351 registered voters in Hopkins County, this represents approximately 4% of the total. 

Early voting began June 29, and will conclude July 10 at 7 p.m. The election will decide who holds the place on both Democrat and Republican ballots in November. 

The runoff election was originally scheduled for May, but was rescheduled to July due to concerns about COVID-19, according to Gov. Greg Abbott. 

For those in Hopkins, Hunt and Van Zandt Counties, the Republican runoff election for House District 2 (Dan Flynn and Bryan Slaton) will impact them the most as they live in the district.

On the Democrat ticket, those in Hopkins County will vote in a runoff between Mary "MJ" Hegar and Royce West to challenge John Cornyn, and will choose either Roberto "Beto" Alonzo or Mary Castañeda in a runoff for railroad commissioner. 

Texas has open primaries, meaning you do not have to be registered as a Democrat or Republican to vote in the runoff election. However, if you previously voted in the March 3 primary registered as a Republican or Democrat, you can now only vote again in July as that same political party. 


Below is a list of all Hopkins County voting locations, which are normally open from from 7 a.m. to 7 p.m., but may change due to COVID-19. Please call ahead to confirm you can vote at these locations.   

Early voting

  • JP Courtroom- 128 Jefferson St., Sulphur Springs TX 75482

July 14 day-of runoff voting

  • Lutheran Church (front foyer), 1000 Texas St., Sulphur Springs
  • Morning Chapel Missionary Baptist Church (fellowship hall), 208 Fuller St., Sulphur Springs
  • Hopkins County Courthouse (first floor courtroom), 118 Church St., Sulphur Springs
  • League Street Church of Christ (front foyer), 1100 S. League St., Sulphur Springs