June 29 marks first day of runoff voting

  • Dan Flynn and Bryan Slaton/ Graphic by Todd Kleiboer
    Dan Flynn and Bryan Slaton/ Graphic by Todd Kleiboer

Flynn and Slaton face off of HD2 slot


Early voting for the July 14 runoff in Texas begins Monday, June 29 and continues until July 10. The election will decide who holds the place on both Democrat and Republican ballots in November. 

The runoff election was originally scheduled for May, but was rescheduled to July due to concerns about COVID-19, according to Gov. Greg Abbott. 

For those in Hopkins, Hunt and Van Zandt Counties, the runoff election for House District 2 (Dan Flynn and Bryan Slaton) will impact them the most as they live in the district. 

Those in Wood, Rains, Delta, Franklin, Titus and other surrounding counties do not live in the district, but may still vote in the election if they choose. 

Texas has open primaries, meaning you do not have to be registered as a Democrat or Republican to vote in the runoff election. However, if you previously voted in the March 3 primary registered as a Republican or Democrat, you can now only vote again in July as that same political party. 


Hopkins County is in House District 2, along with Hunt and Van Zandt Counties. In March, candidate Dan Flynn (R-Canton, incumbent) garnered 44.47% of votes district-wide, while Bryan Slaton (R-Royse City) earned 35.24% of the vote. As neither earned over 50%, this triggered a runoff. With 20.29%, a third candidate, Dwayne “Doc” Collins did not make the runoff. 

Dan Flynn- Flynn was first elected to House District 2 in 2002. Flynn serves as chairman of the Defense and Veterans' Affairs Committee and as a member of the Pensions, Investments, and Financial Services Committee and House Administration Committee. Flynn served in the Navy, and is a native of Van. Flynn worked in the banking industry before serving as the County Judge of Van Zandt County. Current projects include working with TxDOT on the FM 71 bridge (known as the “logjam”) at the Hopkins/ Delta County line. 

Bryan Slaton- Slaton is originally from Mineola and obtained degrees in ministry from Ouachita Baptist University and Southwestern Baptist Theological Seminary. Slaton worked as a youth and family minister for 13 years before earning a degree in business at the University of North Texas, and he now works at his family company in Dallas, Slaton Financial Services. Slaton’s website lists his key issues of focus to include “immigration and border security, family values, second amendment, and rights of the unborn.”   

In March, Flynn managed to take all counties in his district but did not earn more than 50% of vote in any, even in his home Van Zandt County. Slaton placed second behind Flynn in his home, Hunt County, and was beat out by Collins in Van Zandt by 172 votes. Hopkins County was the closest race followed with less than 30 votes separating Slaton and Flynn.

Hopkins County residents can also vote in state elections for democratic senator or democratic railroad commissioner. 

Royce West- West (D-Dallas) currently serves the Senate's 23rd district, which incorporates Dallas. West was first elected to the Texas Senate in 1992. West is Vice Chair of the Senate Higher Education Committee and is a member of Senate committees on Administration, Education and Finance. He is running against MJ Hegar for John Cornyn's seat. 

Mary "MJ" Hegar- Hegar (D-Cedar Park) currently serves the Senate's 31st district, which incorporates parts of Round Rock, Austin and Temple. Hegar was first elected to the Texas Senate in 2017. She is a veteran of the US Air Force and served in Afghanistan, for which she received a Purple Heart. She is running against Royce West for John Cornyn's seat. 

Roberto "Beto" Alonzo (D-Abilene) served the Senate's 104th district, which incorporates parts of Taylor County, from 1993 to 2018. Alonzo is running for railroad commissioner against Chrysta Castañeda. 

Chrysta Castañeda (D-Dallas) previously ran unsuccessfully for Texas's 33rd District in 2012. She works as an oil and gas attorney.


Below is a list of all Hopkins County voting locations, which are normally open from from 7 a.m. to 7 p.m., but may change due to COVID-19. Please call ahead to confirm you can vote at these locations.   

Early voting

  • JP Courtroom- 128 Jefferson St., Sulphur Springs TX 75482

July 14 day-of runoff voting

  • Lutheran Church (front foyer), 1000 Texas St., Sulphur Springs
  • Morning Chapel Missionary Baptist Church (fellowship hall), 208 Fuller St., Sulphur Springs
  • Hopkins County Courthouse (first floor courtroom), 118 Church St., Sulphur Springs
  • League Street Church of Christ (front foyer), 1100 S. League St., Sulphur Springs