The Beat Goes On


SSHS band stays in step with competition

State Solo and Ensemble qualifiers from the Sulphur Springs High School band are (from left): Zach Phillips, Matthew Sherman, Alex Botello, Clayton Boykin, Aubrey Williams, Harley O’bier, Cameron Beard, Andrew Westlund, Shelby Ray, Joel Villarino, Ty Connally, Brooklyn Arneson, Kendall Little, Matthew Harper, Kaden Kirkland and Quincey Chisom. Not pictured are Emma Eddins, Anthony Arroyo, Anayeli Delacruz and Jose Mejia.
The music doesn’t stop when football season is over, Sulphur Springs High School Band Director Spencer Emmert said. In fact, he said, after marching season concludes, the work in the Wildcat Band is really just beginning. “What most people see on Friday night is the result of a lot of hard work from our students. What most people don’t realize is that these students have so many more events that…

Premium Content is available to subscribers only. Please login here to access content or go here to purchase a subscription.