2018 Midterm Election

There was little excitement in local-level partisan races, as the one contested election in Hopkins County went strongly Republican.

Tracy Orr Smith defeated Reiko Alexander in the county clerk's race. Smith won by an 80-20 percent margin, taking 9,454 total votes to 2,274 for Alexander. Smith replaces incumbent Debbie Shirley.

Other county races on the ballot were all uncontested, with only Republican candidates.

Robert Newsom was re-elected as county judge with 10,272 votes. Greg Anglin was elected as Precinct 2 County Commissioner, replacing Mike Odell, with 1,925 votes. Joe Price was elected as Precinct 4 County Commissioner, replacing Danny Evans, taking 2,713 votes. Clay Harrison was elected County Court-at-Law Judge, replacing Amy Smith, taking 10,122 votes. Cheryl Fulcher was re-elected District Clerk with 10,107 votes. Danny Davis was elected County Treasurer, replacing Jim Thompson, with 10,010. B.J. Teer was re-elected Justice of the Peace Precinct 1, with 5,014 votes, and Brad Cummings was re-elected Justice of the Peace Precinct 2, with 5,169 votes.

Cumby had city council elections, in local nonpartisan races.

Mayor Cathy Hall-Carter was re-elected without opposition. She received 97 votes. In Place 1, Alderman Douglas Simmerman was reelected by a 74-26 percent margin over challenger Larry White. The vote differential was 114-41. In Place 2, Kristin Thompson was elected over Johnene McLarry with a69-31 percent split. Thompson had 96 votes to 44 for McLarry.

Three school districts had trustee elections.

In North Hopkins, five candidates were vying for two at-large positions. Allen Joslin took 218 votes and Nichole Vaughn got 207 to win the races. Robert McPherson was third with 191, Sherry Smiddy fourth with 185 and Lori Timko fifth with 167. The ballots are scheduled to be canvassed at 5 p.m. Nov. 13, and the newly elected members to be sworn in at the next school board meeting on Nov. 29.

Miller Grove Independent School District, based on results from Hopkins County, plus Rains County, had selected three candidates for at large spots. Brandon Darrow had 274 votes, 266 from Hopkins County; Bret Garrett had 280 total, with 262 from Hopkins County; and Ray Sparks had 259, with 247 from Hopkins County. Douglas Lewis was a distant fourth with 99 votes, 95 of them Hopkins County votes; and Brandon Kilpatrick was fifth with 78 total, all from Hopkins County.

Cumby Independent School District residents were voting on two at-large spots, with five candidates on the ballot. A portion of the district is in Hunt County. Kyle Pettit lead with 297 votes, including 21 Hunt County votes, and David Tremor was second with 228 votes, including 22 Hunt County votes. Jimmy Helfferich was third with 225 total votes, all except eight of which were cast in Hopkins County. Cody Talley received 166 votes, including 14 from Hunt County voters; and Wesley Thompson  received 66 votes, including eight received from Hunt County voters, unofficial vote tallies from the two county elections officials read.

In the race for Texas state offices, all offices appeared to be remaining in Republican hands as of 9:45 p.m., according to the latest information from the election returns website of the Secretary of State's office. With approximately 28 percent of statewide precincts reporting, Gov. Greg Abbott led Democrat Lupe Valdez by a 56-42 margin, with Libertarian Mark Tippetts just under 2 percent. Lt. Gov. Dan Patrick led Democrat Mike Collier 52-46 percent with Libertarian Kerry McKennon at 2 percent. Attorney General Ken Paxton led Democratic challenger Justin Nelson by the same 52-46 margin with Libertarian Michael Ray Harris at 2 percent. 

Glenn Hegar had a 54-43 lead over Democrat Joi Chevalier in the Controller's race. Ben Sanders, the Libertarian candidate, had 3 percent. George P. Bush had a 55-42 lead over Miguel Suazo in the race for General Land Office commissioner, with Libertarian Matt Pina at 3 percent. Sid Miller was leading the Agriculture Commissioner Race by a 52-45 margin over Democrat Kim Olson, with Libertarian Richard Carpenter at 2 percent.

All the Republican winners in the statewide races were incumbents.

In two legislative races, Republican incumbents appeared to have held on to their seats. In State Senate District 2, Bob Hall was leading Democratic challenger Kendall Scudder by a 60-40 margin. In Hopkins County, the split was much wider, 76-24 percent. Hall had 8,290 votes to 2,869 for Scudder.

For State Representative, District 2, Dan Flynn had an 80-20 lead over Bill Brannon. That exactly matched Hopkins County, where Flynn had 9,364 votes to 2,421 for Brannon.

In federal races, the contest that drew a record-setting voter turnout to a Texas midterm contest, while closer than the Texas state offices, also resulted in a Republican win. Incumbent Republican Ted Cruz held off the challenge of Democrat Beto O'Rourke and had been projected the winner by 9:30 by major news media. At 9:45 p.m., he held a 52-47 percent edge, with Libertarian Neal Dikeman taking 1 percent.

In the U.S. Congress race for District 4, incumbent John Ratcliffe easily defeated Democratic challenger Catherine Krantz. He took 9,391 votes in Hopkins County to 2,321 for her, 79.5 to 19.5 percent. Libertarian Ken Ashby got just under 1 percent of the vote with 108 total votes.


Steve Snyder is a member of the news team at the Sulphur Springs News-Telegram and covers health, economic development, state government and events. He can be reached at 903-885-8663 or by emailing steve.snyder@ssnewstelegram.com.

(0) comments

Welcome to the discussion.

Keep it Clean. Please avoid obscene, vulgar, lewd, racist or sexually-oriented language.
Don't Threaten. Threats of harming another person will not be tolerated.
Be Truthful. Don't knowingly lie about anyone or anything.
Be Nice. No racism, sexism or any sort of -ism that is degrading to another person.
Be Proactive. Use the 'Report' link on each comment to let us know of abusive posts.
Share with Us. We'd love to hear eyewitness accounts, the history behind an article.